Student Governance for University of KwaZulu-Natal

The Students Representative Council (SRC) is comprised of a university-wide committee known as the Central SRC (CSRC) and five campus-based SRCs known as Local SRC (LSRCs). The term SRC refers collectively to both CSRC and LSRC. The CSRC comprises 10 elected members occupying portfolios and five LSRC Presidents; each LSRC comprises 10 elected members occupying portfolios.

The election of the CSRC and LSRCs is contested only by recognized student organisations, rather than individuals. To contest the CSRC elections (held simultaneously with LSRC elections) student organisations must have been recognised on at least three campuses of the University. The operations of the SRC are guided by the SRC Constitution and the authority of its Constitution, subject to the provision of the Higher Education Act of 1997 (as amended), the Institutional Statute of the University, and all other relevant laws of the Republic of South Africa, as well as to the authority of the University Council: its Constitution being the supreme authority in relation to student governance and activities at the University of KwaZulu-Natal.

The SRC represents students in all University matters affecting them as individuals and as a body. They serve the student body; by fighting for student rights, striving for a just standard of general welfare and services for all students, regardless of race, sex, colour and creed. The SRC facilitates communication between students and other stakeholders within the University, and the higher education sector. Currently, the CSRC is represented in all University-wide committees and the LSRC on campus-based committees.The SRC is represented in the highest decision-making body of the University, Council, and on the academic decision making body, Senate.

Clubs and Societies

There are several religious, cultural and sporting clubs and societies on each of the five campuses. Students are encouraged to sign up as members or to start up their own clubs and societies with the support of the Students Representative Council (SRC).